Go to the content

Family and work

For more family friendliness in Saxony

Accessibility statement


Cities and counties

Illustration von der Sachsenkarte

Saxony is one of the 16 German federal states and is located in eastern Germany. It borders on the federal states of Bavaria, Thuringia, Brandenburg and Saxony-Anhalt. Saxony also has German borders with Poland and the Czech Republic. This neighbourhood also has a strong influence on language, culture and food. The state capital of Saxony is Dresden.
Saxony's landscape is very diverse. It offers mountains like the Erzgebirge and the Elbsandsteingebirge as well as green lowlands like the Lausitz and large forests. The river Elbe flows through the middle of Saxony towards the north-west. In the heart of Saxony there are also some lakes. The beauty of the landscape is protected by different nature parks. Many famous painters have illustrated Saxony's beauty like the painter Canaletto the view of Dresden and Caspar David Friedrich the view of the Elbsandsteingebirge. The climate in Saxony is moderate and pleasant, but the winters are colder due to the eastern proximity than in the rest of Germany.